28 – Music video pre-production (Dreaming storyline)

The first place I wanted to start for making the music video is the lyrics. I wanted to analyze the lyrics and interpret them, almost as if it was an encrypted story. So I made short mind maps for each line of the song. From this I had to be able to piece together what I got from each line, and make them work together, so that at the end I had a story. Like a jigsaw, the lines had to fit together, if I wanted to create the final piece.

This story is about true love. I always wanted the story to be about love and desire, but I wanted to link it back top the name of the song, otherwise, it might not be clear, why the song was called dreaming. The main character of this story has just undergone a break up. But he is happy about it because he knew that the woman he was with wasn’t right for him, and now he is free to search for true love.  So I wanted the male character to dream about a different woman he knows. So the woman, who he is constantly referenced to have been dreaming about is his soul mate. They met in high school and have been very close friends with each other ever since. He has only once been in a relationship with her, but they both know that they are meant for each other. These are the basics of the story.

I will now piece the jigsaw together by analyzing the lines of the song:-

‘You know I’ve seen her and placed her in my dreams’ – The main character of the story (the male lead) has been dreaming about true love with his closest friend (and later soul mate).

‘Fill that space what does it mean’ – His closest friend (the woman who he is meant to be with) tells him to ‘fill that space’. Meaning fill the void of love. The space is empty because they are not with each other. But he doesn’t know what she meant by it.

‘But now I’m not stuck in Hell’s lobby now’ – The man is no longer in a relationship with a woman that he does not fully love.

‘And you will be playing this game for the first time after a long time’ – His friend and him will be playing the game of love together for the fist time since they were (originally) in a high school relationship together.

‘Since days could be from their life’ – This line I am not as sure about, but I will just just use this line to express how long it has been since they were first together.

‘I felt like I’d been cursed to die, I let my own hearse drive right on by’ – The man felt he had been cursed to die because he had to be with this woman that he knew wasn’t for him. The hearse drove by because it just left him their to feel alone and so far way.

‘She’s getting the ode we dug up’? – She is taking what was once a message a love to Kate from Jack, but it doesn;t matter now because that no longer lasts

‘And kiss cut to the bone that is telling me good luck’ – Although I cannot make out the first part of the line properly, the telling me good luck part is in relation to the woman who he is leaving.

‘After a long awaited SLAP…BY…I AM…on the high street’ – Although I cannot make out the first part of the line properly, the I am on the high street part is in relation to the man being single.

‘I’m so grateful I’ve got her, she’s got me’ – He is now able to fulfill his friends request to get together again and have true love.

‘DREAMING…DREAMING…’she’s got a hold of ME’ – He now no longer needs to dream because he can now be with the woman that he is meant to be with. Because now she has a hold of him.

‘Yeh I stopped Dreaming…Dreaming’ – He now no longer needs to dream because he can now be with the woman that he is meant to be with. Because now she has a hold of him. This line leads on to…

‘She’s got a hold’ – He is now with the woman that he was meant to be with and she is with him. He no longer needs to dream about being with thew woman he wants to be with, because he is now with her.

‘From across the room I noticed you’ – She is unresisteable to him. He is always thinking of her. Neither of them say anything, but they both know, that they are meant for each other.

‘How could I not, your so damn cute’ – He is attracted to her. The colour of the clothes, might be important hear, just to reiterate, the point of beauty and one way to do that would be to use very beautiful colours. For example using red because it is often associated with flowers.

‘Sat their on that open stool’? – Sat alone, thinking about something.

‘Got me feeling like I’m back in high school’ – He was in a relationship with the woman, back in high school. This did not last that long. And prior to getting back together, this was the only time that they had been together.

Repeated lines

‘From across …’

‘How could I…’

‘Sat their…’

‘Got me…’

‘DREAMING…DREAMING’ – He now no longer needs to dream because he can now be with the woman that he is meant to be with. Because now she has a hold of him.

‘One day’ – He is vying for that one day that will make his life tick, because that is the one day that will matter to him.

(‘When I’ll be after you’?) – When he will be with Rose

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in 'Dreaming', Music Video Assignment, Year 1, Year 1, Year1 Assignments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

